Skip Navigation

Administration on Disabilities (AoD)

Traumatic Brain Injury Program

What is a Traumatic Brain Injury?

A traumatic brain injury (TBI) may be acquired when there is sudden trauma that causes severe damage to the brain. Common causes of TBI may include a fall, an automobile accident, or a sports injury.  TBI may be called numerous different names including a concussion, Shaken Baby Syndrome, head injury, or anoxia due to trauma. Current estimates state that at least 3.2 million Americans have a long-term need for help to perform activities of daily living as a result of a TBI.

TBI can affect many aspects of a person's life (e.g., education, employment, social and family relationships, emotional health, and mobility). As a result, individuals with TBI and their families must often find and gain access to an array of services. Because individual needs are different and can change over time, it is important that systems provide person-centered services and supports.

About the Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Grant Program

The Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Grant Program funds the development and implementation of statewide systems that ensures access to TBI related services including: transitional services, rehabilitation, education and employment, and long-term community support.

The goal of the Federal Traumatic Brain Injury Program is to help state and local agencies develop resources so that all individuals with TBI and their families will have accessible, available, acceptable, and appropriate services and supports. Specific goals include to:

  • Assist states in expanding and improving state and local capability to enhance access to comprehensive and coordinated services for individuals with TBI and their families
  • Use existing research-based knowledge, state-of-the-art systems development approaches and the experience and products of previous TBI grantees in meeting program goals
  • Generate support from local and private sources for sustainability of funded projects after federal support terminates, through state legislative, regulatory, or policy changes which promote the incorporation of services for individuals with TBI and their families into the State service delivery systems.
  • Encourage systems change activities so that individual states can evaluate their current structures and policies with the goal of ensuring that their systems better meet the needs of individuals with TBI and their families.

TBI Programs Transition to ACL:

As of October 1, 2015 the TBI program moved from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) to the Administration for Community Living (ACL). Due to the passage of the TBI Reauthorization Act of 2014, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary Sylvia Mathews Burwell was given the authority to review the program’s aims and goals and determine its best fit within HHS. It was determined that the Administration for Community Living (ACL) would be best positioned to support the TBI program with a mission to advance policy and implement programs that support the rights of older Americans and people with disabilities to live in their communities.

Last Modified: 6/14/2016