Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

About the ICC

More than 77 million adults 60 and older live in the United States, representing over 23% of the population. This population is expected to grow exponentially in the coming years. The Interagency Coordinating Committee on Healthy Aging and Age-Friendly Communities (ICC), authorized by the Older Americans Act and led by the Administration for Community Living (ACL), seeks to improve coordination across federal agencies to promote healthy aging and age-friendly communities. The ICC will develop a strategic framework for a national plan on aging and work in partnership with older adults, community organizations, and others to advance a coordinated and comprehensive approach to planning for our Nation’s changing aging demographic. To learn more about the ICC, visit our Background and Vision & Values pages.

About ACL 

The Administration for Community Living is an operating division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ACL was created based on the fundamental principle that older adults and people of all ages with disabilities should be able to live where they choose, with the people they choose, and with the ability to participate fully in their communities. By funding services and supports provided primarily by networks of community-based organizations and with investments in research, education, and innovation, ACL helps make this principle a reality for millions of Americans.

Last modified on 05/30/2024

Back to Top