Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

State Units on Aging

State Units on Aging (SUAs) are designated state-level agencies that are responsible for developing and administering multi-year state plans that advocate for and provide assistance to older residents, their families, and, in many states, for adults with physical disabilities. The 56 SUAs are located in each of the 50 states as well as the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, the Mariana Islands, and the Virgin Islands.

"State Unit on Aging" is a general term. The specific title and organization of each governmental unit varies and may be called a Department, Office, Bureau, Commission, Council, or Board for the elderly, seniors, aging, older adults, and/or adults with physical disabilities.

Most states are divided into planning and service areas (PSAs), so that programs can be tailored to meet the specific needs of people residing in those areas.

Funding is allocated to each SUA based on the number of persons over the age of 60 in the state.

Find your SUA by visiting or calling 1-800-677-1116.

Last modified on 04/29/2017

Back to Top