Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) State Partnership Grant Program

What is a TBI?

A traumatic brain injury (TBI) can happen when an external force causes severe damage to the brain. Common causes of TBI include falls, automobile accidents, and sports injuries. There are many different names for TBI such as concussion, Shaken Baby Syndrome, head injury, or anoxia (loss of oxygen) due to trauma. Data from NIDILRR-supported research finds 1.56 million TBIs are sustained in one year. 

TBI can affect many parts of a person's life. People living with TBI and their families often require a range of services and supports. Individual needs are different and can change over time, so it is important that systems provide person-centered services and supports.

TBI Technical Assistance and Resource Center (TBI TARC)

ACL’s TBI Technical Assistance and Resource Center helps TBI State Partnership Program grantees promote access to integrated, coordinated services and supports for people who have sustained a TBI, their families, and their caregivers. The Center also provides a variety of resources to non-grantee states, people affected by brain injury, policymakers, and providers.

TBI TARC is committed to integrating the voice of people with lived experience of TBI into its products, resources, and technical assistance approach. The Center’s activities are overseen and guided by people with lived experience and other subject matter experts.

Have a question about TBI or ACL’s TBI Programs? The TBI TARC team is here to help. Send your inquiry or request to tbitarc@hsri.org to receive help.

Other Resources:

Webinars:

2021 TBI Tuesdays Webinar Series

In observance of Brain Injury Awareness Month 2021 and in lieu of the Administration for Community Living’s annual in-person Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Stakeholder Day, we hosted virtual TBI Tuesdays (1:00 - 4 pm ET) during the months of March and April. See this webpage for webinar replays and materials.

December 18, 2020: Telehealth During a Pandemic: Maintaining Accessible Services

Webinar details and materials.

About the TBI State Partnership Grant Program

The TBI State Partnership Grant Program provides funding to help states increase access to services and supports for individuals with TBI throughout the lifetime. This grant program is one component of the federal TBI Program, along with Protection & Advocacy, which is expected to:

  • Help states expand and improve state and local capability so individuals with TBI and their families have better access to comprehensive and coordinated services.

  • Generate support from local and private sources for sustainability of funded projects after federal support terminates. This is done through state legislative, regulatory, or policy changes that promote the integration of TBI-related services into state service delivery systems.

  • Encourage systems change activities so that individual states can 1) evaluate their current structures and policies and 2) improve their systems as needed to better meet the needs of individuals with TBI and their families.

Grants to States

Federal TBI Program grants to states have undergone several changes since the TBI Act of 1996 mandated the program. The most recent state grants were awarded in 2014 and require that grant activities increase access to rehabilitation and other services. Specifically, the states must address four barriers to needed services by:

  • Screening to identify individuals with TBI

  • Building a trained TBI workforce by providing professional training

  • Providing information about TBI to families and referrals to appropriate service providers

  • Facilitating access to needed services through resource facilitation

State Partnership Grants (SPGs) cannot be used to support primary injury prevention initiatives, research initiatives, or the provision of direct services. Funds may be used, however, to educate the public about the causes, symptoms, and treatment of TBI.

Between 1997 and 2018, 48 states, two territories, and the District of Columbia received at least one state agency grant. For the current funding cycle (FY 2018-2021), 24 states receive funding for State Partnership Program grants. See "Current Grantees" below. A new funding cycle (FY2021-FY2026 for up to 28 states is anticipated to start on July 1, 2021.

Current Grantees

State

Organization

Contact(s)

AK

 

 

University of Alaska Anchorage

 

 

Danielle Reed

danielle@alaskachd.org

 

Karen Heath

karenh@alaskachd.org

 

Lucy Cordwell

 lucy@alaskachd.org

 

AL

 

 

Alabama Department of Rehabilitation

 

 

April Turner

april.turner@rehab.alabama.gov

 

Karen Coffey

Karen.coffey@rehab.alabama.gov

 

AR

 

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

 

 

Danny Bercher

 BercherDaniell@uams.edu

CA

 

 

California State Department of Rehabilitation

 

 

Will Blalock

William.Blalock@dor.ca.gov

 

Tanya Thee

Tanya.Thee@dor.ca.gov

Megan Sampson

Megan.Sampson@dor.ca.gov

 

CO

 

Colorado Department of Human Services, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation

Liz Gerdeman

liz.gerdeman@state.co.us

 

GA

 

 

Georgia Department of Public Health

 

 

Kenisha Tait

kenisha.tait@dph.ga.gov

 

IA

 

 

Iowa Department of Public Health

 

 

James Pender

james.pender@idph.iowa.gov

 

Maggie Ferguson

Maggie.Ferguson@idph.iowa.gov

 

ID

 

Idaho State University, Institute of Rural Health

Russ Spearman

spearuss@isu.edu

 

IN

 

 

Indiana State Department of Health

 

 

Brian Busching

bbusching@isdh.in.gov

 

Dr. Devan Parrott

devan.parrott@rhin.com

 

Peter Bisbecos

Peter.bisbecos@rhin.com

 

Amy Miller

amy.miller@rhin.com

 

KS

 

 

Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services

 

 

Michele Heydon

michele.heydon@ks.gov

 

KY

 

 

Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services

 

 

Donald Scott Collins

donald.collins@ky.gov

MA

 

 

Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission

 

 

Amanda Tower

Amanda.Tower@mass.gov

 

MD

 

 

Maryland Department of Health, Behavioral Health Administration

 

 

Stefani O'Dea

stefani.odea@maryland.gov

 

Anastasia Edmonston

anastasia.edmonston@maryland.gov

 

ME

 

Maine Department of Health and Human Services

 

 

Derek Fales

derek.fales@maine.gov

 

Sarah Jordan

sjordan@biausa.org

 

MN

 

 

Minnesota Department of Human Services

 

 

Eileen Kelly

eileen.kelly@state.mn.us

 

MO

 

 

Missouri Department of Health

 

Jennifer Braun

jennifer.braun@health.mo.gov

NC

 

 

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Mental Health

 

Scott Pokorny

Scott.Pokorny@dhhs.nc.gov

 

ND

 

North Dakota Department of Human Services

 

 

Rebecca Quinn

rebecca.quinn@und.edu

 

NE

 

 

Nebraska Department of Vocational Rehabilitation

 

 

Keri Bennett

keri.bennett@nebraska.gov

 

Tresa Christensen

tresa.christensen@nebraska.gov

 

NJ

 

 

New Jersey, Department of Human Services

 

LorieAnn Wilkerson-Leconte

LorieAnn.Wilkerson-Leconte@dhs.nj.gov

 

OH

 

 

Ohio Valley Center for Brain Injury Prevention & Rehabilitation, Ohio State University

Monica Lichi

Monica.lichi@osumc.edu

OR

 

 

University of Oregon, Center for Brain Injury Research and Training

 

Megan Jones

jonesm@cbirt.org

 

PA

 

 

Pennsylvania Department of Health, Bureau of Family Health, Division of Community Systems Development and Outreach

 

Nikki Adams

nicadams@pa.gov

 

Cynthia Dundas

cdundas@pa.gov

 

RI

 

 

Rhode Island Department of Health

 

 

Jeffrey Hill

Jeffrey.Hill@health.ri.gov

 

Jolayemi Ahamiojie

Jolayemi.Ahamiojie@health.ri.gov

 

Carmen Boucher

Carmen.Boucher@health.ri.gov

 

TN

 

Tennessee Department of Health

 

 

Ashley Bridgman

Ashley.n.bridgman@tn.gov

 

UT

 

 

Utah Department of Health, Violence, and Injury Prevention Program

 

Traci Barney

tabarney@utah.gov

 

VA

 

Virginia Department of Aging and Rehabilitative Services

 

Donna Cantrell

donna.cantrell@DARS.virginia.gov

 

Chris Miller

christiane.miller@dars.virginia.gov

 

WV

 

West Virginia University, Center for Excellence in Disabilities

 

 

 

Amanda Acord-Vira

amanda.acordvira1@hsc.wvu.edu

 

Miranda Talkington

miranda.talkington@hsc.wvu.edu

Highlighted State and Workgroup Resources:

  • TBI Advisory Board Toolkit
    States across the U.S. have established or are working toward implementing a TBI advisory council or board. These boards serve to identify and report on gaps in resources and services and make recommendations on ways to improve and develop needed resources and services that benefit people living with a brain injury; their caregivers, family members, and health care providers; and community stakeholders. This toolkit includes 14 individual components/sections and aims to provide guidance and best practices to help state programs establish or sustain these advisory boards and, most importantly, to help them fully engage all advisory board members, especially people with brain injury, in planning and leading state work.

Authorizing Legislation

The current authorizing legislation is the Traumatic Brain Injury Program Reauthorization Act of 2018 (P.L 115-377; (42 U.S.C. 300d–52). It raised the authorization levels for the TBI State Partnership Program and TBI P&A and officially designates ACL as the administering agency for both programs. Also, the new provision for partners at the Centers for Disease Control will allow them to implement and analyze concussion prevalence and incidence data, filling a longstanding data gap that will bolster all TBI programs.

See this page for information about the Traumatic Brain Injury Reauthorization Act of 2018.

TBI Programs Transition to ACL

The current authorizing legislation is the Traumatic Brain Injury Program Reauthorization Act of 2018 (P.L 115-377; (42 U.S.C. 300d–52). It raised the authorization levels for the TBI State Partnership Program and TBI P&A and officially designates ACL as the administering agency for both programs. Also, the new provision for partners at the Centers for Disease Control will allow them to implement and analyze concussion prevalence and incidence data, filling a longstanding data gap that will bolster all TBI programs.

See this page for information about the Traumatic Brain Injury Reauthorization Act of 2018.


Last modified on 11/05/2021


Back to Top