Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) State Partnership Grant Program

What is a TBI?

A traumatic brain injury (TBI) can happen when an external force causes severe damage to the brain. Common causes of TBI include falls, automobile accidents, and sports injuries. There are many different names for TBI such as concussion, Shaken Baby Syndrome, head injury, or anoxia (loss of oxygen) due to trauma. Data from NIDILRR-supported research finds 1.56 million TBIs are sustained in one year. 

TBI can affect many parts of a person's life. People living with TBI and their families often require a range of services and supports. Individual needs are different and can change over time, so it is important that systems provide person-centered services and supports.

TBI Technical Assistance and Resource Center (TBI TARC)

ACL’s TBI Technical Assistance and Resource Center helps TBI State Partnership Program grantees promote access to integrated, coordinated services and supports for people who have sustained a TBI, their families, and their caregivers. The Center also provides a variety of resources to non-grantee states, people affected by brain injury, policymakers, and providers.

TBI TARC is committed to integrating the voice of people with lived experience of TBI into its products, resources, and technical assistance approach. The Center’s activities are overseen and guided by people with lived experience and other subject matter experts.

Have a question about TBI or ACL’s TBI Programs? The TBI TARC team is here to help. Send your inquiry or request to tbitarc@hsri.org to receive help.

Other Resources:

Webinars:

August 10, 2022: Getting and Staying Involved in the Brain Injury Community

This Administration for Community Living (ACL) Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Technical Assistance and Resource Center’s (TARC) webinar focused on how brain injury survivors can become involved and stay actively engaged in community, state and national brain injury initiatives. TBI survivors discussed how survivors can collaborate on all aspects of board and committee development, management, and engagement, as well as effective advocacy. The audience for the webinar are survivors that are currently engaged in brain injury initiatives, those who would like to be engaged, brain injury program staff, community brain injury providers, and other stakeholders. The presenters were staff of the TBI TARC and members of the TBI Advisory and Leadership Group (TAL-Group).  

The webinar was live-captioned and ASL-interpreted. If you have any questions about the webinar, please do not hesitate to contact the TBI TARC at tbitarc@hsri.org.

Presenters:

  • Maria Crowley, TBI TARC Technical Assistance Lead
  • Judy Dettmer, TBI TARC Technical Assistance Lead
  • Carole Starr, TBI Survivor, Speaker, Author, Advocate, and TAL-Group member
  • Cheryl Kempf, Brain Trauma and PTSD Survivor, Advocate, Speaker, and TAL-Group member
  • Clifford Hymowitz, Brain Injury Survivor, Mental Health Peer Specialist, and TAL-Group member
  • Kelly Lang, Survivor, Caregiver, Former Board Member, and TAL-Group member

Webinar recording (captioned)

Webinar slides

June 22, 2022: Introductory Webinar to the Behavioral Health Guide: Considerations for Best Practices for Children, Youth, and Adults with TBI

Introduced during the webinar was the Administration for Community Living (ACL) Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Technical Assistance and Resource Center’s (TARC) Behavioral Health Guide designed to provide state brain injury professionals with the tools to effectively partner with their state behavioral health entities and improve outcomes for this population. The guide’s authors provided an overview of the various sections and answered questions about applying some of the tools and strategies identified within a state system. The guide is available for downloading at Behavioral Health Guide.

The webinar was live-captioned and ASL-interpreted. If you have any questions about the webinar, please do not hesitate to contact the TBI TARC at tbitarc@hsri.org.

BH Guide Sections and Presenters:

Section 1: Purpose of the Guide and Overview of Behavioral Health and TBI, Judy Dettmer, BSW, TBI TARC and the National Association of State Head Injury Administrators (NASHIA)

Section 2: Partners and Strategies, Thomasine Heitkamp, LCSW, Chester Fritz Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the University of North Dakota

Section 3: Training Approaches, Maria Crowley, MA, CRC, TBI TARC and NASHIA

Section 4: Screening for Lifetime History of TBI, John D. Corrigan, PhD; ABPP; Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; and Director, Ohio Valley Center for Brain Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation, the Ohio State University

Section 5: Modifying Clinical Interventions for TBI, Theo Tsaousides, PhD, ABPP, Clinical Assistant Professor, and Maria Kajankova, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Rehabilitation and Human Performance, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Section 6: Modifying Psychopharmacologic Interventions for TBI,  Lindsey Gurin, MD and Michael Chiou, MD,  NYU Langone Health

Webinar recording (captioned)

Webinar slides

Webinar Spanish transcript

2022 TBI Stakeholder Day

View the summary, download materials, and watch the video replay.

2021 TBI Tuesdays Webinar Series

In observance of Brain Injury Awareness Month 2021 and in lieu of the Administration for Community Living’s annual in-person Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Stakeholder Day, we hosted virtual TBI Tuesdays (1:00 - 4 pm ET) during the months of March and April. See this webpage for webinar replays and materials.

December 18, 2020: Telehealth During a Pandemic: Maintaining Accessible Services

Webinar details and materials.

About the TBI State Partnership Grant Program

The TBI State Partnership Grant Program provides funding to help states increase access to services and supports for individuals with TBI throughout the lifetime. This grant program is one component of the federal TBI Program, along with Protection & Advocacy, which is expected to:

  • Help states expand and improve state and local capability so individuals with TBI and their families have better access to comprehensive and coordinated services.

  • Generate support from local and private sources for sustainability of funded projects after federal support terminates. This is done through state legislative, regulatory, or policy changes that promote the integration of TBI-related services into state service delivery systems.

  • Encourage systems change activities so that individual states can 1) evaluate their current structures and policies and 2) improve their systems as needed to better meet the needs of individuals with TBI and their families.

Grants to States

Federal TBI Program grants to states have undergone several changes since the TBI Act of 1996 mandated the program. The most recent state grants were awarded in 2014 and require that grant activities increase access to rehabilitation and other services. Specifically, the states must address four barriers to needed services by:

  • Screening to identify individuals with TBI

  • Building a trained TBI workforce by providing professional training

  • Providing information about TBI to families and referrals to appropriate service providers

  • Facilitating access to needed services through resource facilitation

State Partnership Grants (SPGs) cannot be used to support primary injury prevention initiatives, research initiatives, or the provision of direct services. Funds may be used, however, to educate the public about the causes, symptoms, and treatment of TBI.

Between 1997 and 2018, 48 states, two territories, and the District of Columbia received at least one state agency grant. For the current funding cycle (FY 2018-2021), 24 states receive funding for State Partnership Program grants. See "Current Grantees" below. A new funding cycle (FY2021-FY2026 for up to 28 states is anticipated to start on July 1, 2021.

Current Grantees

State

Organization

Current Contact(s)

AK

 

 

University of Alaska Anchorage

 

 

Karen Heath
kheath@alaska.edu

 

Lucy Cordwell
lkcordwell@alaska.edu

 

Kenneth Kuykendall
kwkuykendall@alaska.edu

 

Sondra LeClair
sleclai1@alaska.edu

 

AL

 

 

Alabama Department of Rehabilitation

 

 

April Turner
april.turner@rehab.alabama.gov

 

David White
David.white@rehab.alabama.gov

 

AR

 

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

 

Danny Bercher
 BercherDaniell@uams.edu

CA

 

 

California State Department of Rehabilitation

 

 

Will Blalock
William.Blalock@dor.ca.gov

 

Tanya Thee
Tanya.Thee@dor.ca.gov

Megan Sampson
Megan.Sampson@dor.ca.gov

 

CO

 

Colorado Department of Human Services

Liz Gerdeman
liz.gerdeman@state.co.us

 

GA

 

 

Georgia Department of Public Health

 

Kenisha Tait
kenisha.tait@dph.ga.gov

IA

 

 

Iowa Department of Public Health

 

 

James Pender
james.pender@idph.iowa.gov

 

Maggie Ferguson
Maggie.Ferguson@idph.iowa.gov

 

ID

 

Idaho State University, Institute of Rural Health

Russ Spearman
spearuss@isu.edu

 

IN

 

 

Indiana State Department of Health

 

Brian Busching
bbusching@isdh.in.gov

KS

 

 

Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services

 

Susan Segelquist
susan.segelquist2@ks.gov

 

KY

 

 

Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services

 

Donald Scott Collins
donald.collins@ky.gov

MA

 

 

Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission

 

Amanda Tower
Amanda.Tower@mass.gov

 

MD

 

 

Maryland Department of Health, Behavioral Health Administration

 

 

Stefani O'Dea
stefani.odea@maryland.gov

 

Anastasia Edmonston
anastasia.edmonston@maryland.gov

 

ME

 

Maine Department of Health and Human Services

 

 

Derek Fales
derek.fales@maine.gov

 

Sarah Jordan
sjordan@biausa.org

 

MN

 

 

Minnesota Department of Human Services

 

Eileen Kelly
eileen.kelly@state.mn.us

 

 

MO

 

 

Missouri Department of Health

Jennifer Braun
jennifer.braun@health.mo.gov

NC

 

 

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Mental Health

 

Scott Pokorny
Scott.Pokorny@dhhs.nc.gov

 

ND

 

North Dakota Department of Human Services

 

 

Rebecca Quinn
rebecca.quinn@und.edu

 

NE

 

 

Nebraska Department of Vocational Rehabilitation

 

 

Keri Bennett
keri.bennett@nebraska.gov

 

Tresa Christensen
tresa.christensen@nebraska.gov

 

NJ

 

 

New Jersey, Department of Human Services

 

 Dr. Margaret Lumia
Margaret.lumia@dhs.nj.gov

OH

 

 

Ohio Valley Center for Brain Injury Prevention & Rehabilitation, Ohio State University

Brei Miller
Brei.Miller@osumc.edu

 

OR

 

 

University of Oregon, Center for Brain Injury Research and Training

 

Megan Jones
jonesm@cbirt.org

 

PA

 

 

Pennsylvania Department of Health, Bureau of Family Health, Division of Community Systems Development and Outreach

 

Nikki Adams
nicadams@pa.gov

 

Cynthia Dundas
cdundas@pa.gov

 

 

RI

 

 

Rhode Island Department of Health

 

 

Jolayemi Ahamiojie
Jolayemi.Ahamiojie@health.ri.gov

 

Carmen Boucher
Carmen.Boucher@health.ri.gov

 

SC

South Carolina Department of Disabilities and Special Needs 

Melissa Ritter
mritter@ddsn.sc.gov  

 

Harley Davis
Harley.Davis@ddsn.sc.gov

TN

 

Tennessee Department of Health

 

 

Ashley Bridgman
Ashley.n.bridgman@tn.gov

 

UT

 

 

Utah Department of Health, Violence, and Injury Prevention Program

 

Traci Barney
tabarney@utah.gov

 

Daniel Musto
danielmusto@utah.gov

 

VA

 

Virginia Department of Aging and Rehabilitative Services

 

Donna Cantrell
donna.cantrell@DARS.virginia.gov

 

Chris Miller
christiane.miller@dars.virginia.gov

 

WV

 

West Virginia University, Center for Excellence in Disabilities

 

Amanda Acord-Vira
amanda.acordvira1@hsc.wvu.edu

 


Last modified on 11/08/2022


Back to Top